Skip to Main Content

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)

I/B/E/S

 

 

 

 

NB! BI has a 1-year subscription from May 2023 until 31 May 2024.

WRDS Overview of I/B/E/S Historical Earnings Estimate Database. I/B/E/S estimate database contains analysts forecast data.

Coverage

I/B/E/S has forecast information on 60,000 companies across 100+ markets.
 

BI subscribes to the following datasets within I/B/E/S: 

I/B/E/S Academic - while many brokers allow all I/B/E/S clients to access their estimates, certain brokers require licenses directly with each client to use their estimates. The detailed estimates for these brokers do not appear in the academic version, but are still included in the calculation of the consensus figures. The consensus estimates are the same for both Academic and Corporate versions. 

I/B/E/S Guidance - includes management's predictions about their own company (as opposed to the opinions of 3rd party analysts). It includes information previously available in the Company Issued Guidance (CIG) file in base I/B/E/S and information from the defunct First Call database. 


General Description

I/B/E/S, the Institutional Brokers' Estimate System, is a database from Refinitiv. It is an historical earnings estimate database containing analyst estimates for more than 20 forecast measures - including EPS (earnings per share), revenue, price targets, EBITDA and pre-tax profits - available on both consensus and detailed levels, covering both U.S. and international companies. The database also includes buy-hold-sell recommendations.

I/B/E/S Guidance is a related, but separate, product from Refinitiv that includes management's predictions about their own company (as opposed to the opinions of 3rd party analysts). It includes information previously available in the Company Issued Guidance (CIG) file in base I/B/E/S and information from the defunct First Call database.

 

Link to I/B/E/S via WRDS