Zotero - English

It's possible to create different kinds of groups, we recommend using Private groups:

• Private groups provide a means of collaboration among group members without creating any public face for the group online.
• Private groups are completely hidden from group searches. They are not shown on members’ public profile pages and will not appear in search engine results.
• If administrators enable file sharing, group members can access and share files in addition to references.

Take a look at Zoteros webpages to find more information on other types of groups.

1. Click on the icon New Library and choose New Group.
It's also possible to click on the button Create a New Group on the landing page for groups on zotero.org.

2. You will be directed to zotero.org/groups/new. Name your group, choose Group Type and click Create Group.

3. Choose the settings for the group and click Save Settings. We recommend using the following settings: 

4. You can change the settings for your groups at any time at the group pages on Zotero.org.

It's possible to share a group with others in Zotero and this is practical if you're going to co-write with someone. Take a look above to see how to create a group and follow the instructions below to share a group with other members.

1. Go to the group you want to share and choose Manage Members.

2. Choose Send More Invitations.

3. Type in the username or e-mail to the members you want to invite and click Invite Members. You have to use the same address that they used when they created a Zotero online account.

4. The invited member will receive an e-mail with a link to the shared group where she has to choose Join to become a member.

When sync is set up and you are a member of a group with a library attached to it, this group is visible in the left panel of Zotero. You can drag and drop references from your local library to the shared group.

It's possible to add Collections to a shared library.

Be aware that the group libraries are completely separate from your local library. References added to the shared group from your local library are separate copies. This means that if you're editing a reference in the shared group it also needs to be updated/edited in the local library and changes being made won't be visible before you drag the updated reference to the other library.

A group can consist of one or more collections. Create collections to sort references that belong together. You can drag and drop references to collections from your local library or any other group. Be aware that a reference can exist in many collections and groups.

1. Right-click the library or group where you want to create a collection.
2. Click New Collection and give it a name.

It's also possible to add a collection by clicking the button for New Collection.